
Life Extension MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron & Astaxanthin
- Astaxanthin
- Softgel
- 60
- Unflavored
- More reviewed than 81%
A softgel eye health formula built around the three macular carotenoids plus saffron and astaxanthin for buyers who already take vision-focused supplements.
As an Amazon Associate, ProductDome may earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page.
How it ranks among the 64 astaxanthin we track
4.6★ across 1,300 Amazon ratings, Bayesian-smoothed toward the category average.
1,300 Amazon ratings, weighted on a log scale so huge counts don't drown everything.
2,000+ bought on Amazon last month.
Brand identity, imagery, description and spec coverage.
The ProductDome score is separate from the Amazon rating shown above: it combines the Bayesian-smoothed Amazon rating with evidence volume, tracked demand, and data quality across the 64 astaxanthin we track - how the scorecard works · full astaxanthin data report. Confidence: high - strong rating volume and complete data.Last refreshed Aug 4, 2026. Data-computed, not a hands-on test. Compiled by the ProductDome Research Team.
Overview
Life Extension MacuGuard Ocular Support pairs the three carotenoids used in eye research, lutein, zeaxanthin and meso-zeaxanthin, with saffron extract and natural astaxanthin in a 60 softgel bottle designed as a daily eye health regimen.
Rather than selling a single-ingredient lutein product, the formula bundles all three macular carotenoids with saffron extract and astaxanthin in one softgel. It is labeled gluten free and non-GMO, and the listing does not specify a daily serving count.
- Lutein, zeaxanthin and meso-zeaxanthin combination
- Saffron extract added
- Natural astaxanthin included
- Gluten free, non-GMO softgels
Who it's for
This suits adults already taking a carotenoid-based eye supplement routine and looking for one that combines lutein, zeaxanthin, meso-zeaxanthin, saffron and astaxanthin rather than buying each separately. It fits buyers comfortable with softgels. It's not aimed at anyone seeking treatment for a diagnosed eye condition, which needs a doctor's guidance rather than a supplement.
Strengths and trade-offs
Drawn from this product's published specifications.
- Combines three macular carotenoids in one softgel
- Adds saffron extract and natural astaxanthin
- Gluten free and non-GMO
- 60 softgels per bottle
- Softgel form only, no chewable option
- Serving size per day not stated
- No single-ingredient lutein alternative here
Performance notes
The formula's premise centers on lutein, meso-zeaxanthin and zeaxanthin, the three carotenoids found in the eye's macula, combined here with saffron extract and natural astaxanthin rather than sold as a single-ingredient lutein product.
Specifications
| Brand | Life |
|---|---|
| Model | 01993 |
| Form | Softgel |
| Supplement Type | MacuGuard proprietary blend, Natural astaxanthin, Saffron extract |
| Count | 60 |
| Flavor | Unflavored |
| Benefits | Contains lutein, meso-zeaxanthin and zeaxanthin to help protect eyes from blue a |
| Diet | Gluten Free |
| Allergens | Gluten Free, Non-GMO |
How it compares
This product against the closest alternatives we track in astaxanthin.
| Product | Amazon rating | Ratings | ProductDome score |
|---|---|---|---|
| Life Extension MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron & AstaxanthinThis product | 4.6 / 5 | 1,300 | 4.4 / 5 |
| Sports Research Triple Strength Astaxanthin 12mg w/Organic Coconut OilSports | 4.6 / 5 | 8,800 | 4.6 / 5 |
| Nutrex Hawaii BioAstin Hawaiian AstaxanthinNutrex | 4.5 / 5 | 12,900 | 4.5 / 5 |
| Nutricost Astaxanthin 12mgNutricost | 4.6 / 5 | 3,600 | 4.5 / 5 |
| Micro Ingredients Astaxanthin 12mg with MCT OilMicro | 4.5 / 5 | 5,000 | 4.5 / 5 |
Questions about the Life 01993
Common buyer questions answered straight from the product spec data - no fluff, no "it depends".
What are the main active ingredients in MacuGuard?
Lutein, zeaxanthin, meso-zeaxanthin, saffron extract and natural astaxanthin.
Is this product gluten free?
Yes, it is listed gluten free and non-GMO.
What form do the softgels take, capsule or gummy?
Softgel, 60 count per bottle.




