
HP USB-C Dock G5
- Single USB-C cable to the notebook, charges it too
- Up to three displays supported
- 12 ports total, including 1 HDMI
- USB-C and Thunderbolt notebooks, HP and non-HP
- Wired network with PXE Boot, WoL, MAC pass-through
- 4.8 x 1.8 x 4.8 inches, 676 g
Updated 25 days ago · Based on the Amazon listing and published specifications, not hands-on testing.
A compact single cable dock for offices that mix notebook brands and want multi monitor desks with IT management built in. Charging output to the notebook is not stated, so check it against a power hungry laptop.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. ProductDome earns a commission when you buy through links on this page.
ASIN: B07RGC9QSLModel: 5TW10AA#ABACategory: Laptop Docking Stations
Overview
Shared office desks get one USB-C connection that links a notebook to monitors, accessories and a wired network while charging it. The small dock works with HP and non-HP notebooks that have USB-C or Thunderbolt ports, which suits a mixed fleet.
Buy it for the one cable desk: displays, peripherals, network and charging all arrive through a single plug, and IT gets remote management tools on top. Only a single HDMI port is listed, so check how the other displays connect before planning a multi monitor setup.
Who it's for
An IT team outfitting hot desks for a mixed fleet of notebooks gets central control and one plug per seat. A notebook without USB-C, or a power hungry workstation that needs a published charging rating, calls for a different dock.
Pros and cons
- One cable for displays, network and charging
- Works with non-HP USB-C notebooks
- Supports up to three displays
- Small square footprint
- Charging wattage to the notebook not stated
- Only one HDMI port listed
- Fleet tools focus on HP commercial notebooks
- Warranty described only as limited
Performance notes
Everything travels over one USB-C link, so display support and charging depend on the notebook's USB-C or Thunderbolt port. Network features such as Wake on LAN and MAC address pass-through work in all power states, which lets IT reach notebooks that are asleep or off.
Specifications
| Brand | HP |
|---|---|
| Model | 5TW10AA#ABA |
| Dimensions & fit | |
| Item weight | 1.49 pounds |
| Item dimensions l x W x h | 4.8 × 1.8 × 4.8 inches |
| Capacity & performance | |
| Wattage | 100 watts |
| Power & efficiency | |
| Input voltage | 100 volts |
| Construction & materials | |
| Color | Black |
| Compatibility & installation | |
| Hardware interface | HDMI, USB 3.0, USB Type C |
| Warranty & support | |
| Warranty description | Limited |
| Other details | |
| Max displays | Up to three |
| Total number of HDMI ports | 1 |
| Total USB ports | 2 |
| Number of ports | 12 |
| Management tools | eTag asset management, remote firmware updates |
| Network features | PXE Boot, LAN/WLAN Switching, Wake On LAN, MAC Address Pass-Through |
Frequently asked questions
Is the HP USB-C Dock G5 a Thunderbolt dock?
The listing describes a USB-C dock that also works with Thunderbolt-enabled notebooks. It does not call the dock itself a Thunderbolt dock.
Will the HP USB-C Dock G5 work with a notebook that has no USB-C port?
The listing describes connection through a single USB-C cable to a USB-C-enabled notebook, so a notebook without USB-C is not covered.
Does the HP USB-C Dock G5 work with Apple notebooks?
HP says it tests compatibility across HP notebooks and Apple, Dell and Lenovo notebooks that have USB-C charging ports.
How does IT manage the HP USB-C Dock G5?
The eTag tool tracks docks by product name, serial number and MAC address, and firmware updates can be pushed to managed notebooks for later install on the dock, even while they are disconnected.